CURRENT PROGRAMME

All meetings are held at: St Andrews Hall
Albert Road, Caversham Reading RG4 7PL
starting at 8pm, doors open 7:45pm

Green highlighting  means NOT a Tuesday Club night or NOT at usual venue


2019    
Tues 15th Oct Course week 5 ALL Shooting and Directing a Scene - demonstration of how to shoot a drama scene covering the practicalities of coverage, lighting, sound recording and directing actors.
Tues 22nd Oct Course week 6 ALL Practical Group Session - beginners and seasoned members work in groups to
shoot either a scene (beginners) or nail a shot (more advanced) using the skills covered in earlier
weeks. (This session could be switched out with a session on editing week 5’s scene instead if
there is enough demand for this).
Tues 29th Oct GATEWAY competition Our annual competition against Staines and Bourne End hosted by Reading at 8pm.
Tues 5th Nov PLANNING Group discussion of proposed scripts for this year's group shoot and vote for the winning propoal
Tues 12th Nov PRACTICAL - Film an advert Film a fictional advert in pre-arranged groups
Tues 19th Nov GUEST SPEAKER - "Solo-Shooting Cinematography" Richard Wakefileld https://richard-wakefield.co.uk/filming/
Richard has had a varied and exciting journey in filmmaking. He'll talk you through filming techniques, gaining clients and utilising passion projects.
Tues 26th Nov COMPETITION NIGHT Curry Cup - 4 min MAX film. Could include films shot on Course Week 6
Tues 3rd Dec Member night - "Auntie Beeb and her New Recruit" Member Alan Bucket will talk about his career in and around television and radio which started at the BBC.
Tues 10th Dec COMPETITION NIGHT Grosvenor Trophy - Summer Project films (max 15 mins). Films made over the summer break with at least two club members or larger team.
Tues 17th Dec XMAS SOCIAL Fun and games
Tues 24th Dec NO MEETING  
Tues 31st Dec NO MEETING  
2020    
Tues 7th Jan PLANNING Group shoot, rehearsal and blocking
Tues 14th Jan COMPETITION NIGHT Gear Trophy - Documentary (Max 15 mins) The main criteria for this competition is to inform your audience who can learn from your subject matter.
Tues 21st Jan PRACTICAL - Copy the Shot A practical session lead by Dan where teams attempt to mimic shots they like from well-known movies
Tues 28th Jan GUEST SPEAKER Gabi – "Light (not lighting)" - Cinematography is all about light. This demo will explore different parameters and features of light.
Tues 4th Feb COMPETITION NIGHT Ward Trophy- Holiday films (Max 15 mins)
Tues 11th Feb GUEST SPEAKER  “A Critical Eye” - Alex Gower-Jackson will talk about his experience as a shooting producer / director, filming the documentary series “Emergency Helicopter Medics”
Tues 18th Feb MEMBERS NIGHT - “From Club to Corporate” and “Bringing your script to life” Brian will talk us through the transition from being a club member to running a film business, and Andy will demonstrate how you can re-write moments in scenes so that your actors can get a sense of what you want the finished film to be.
Tues 25th Feb COMPETITION NIGHT Burke Trophy (for members who have not previously WON any competition at RFVM) (Max 10 mins) AND Caversham Cup (MAX 1min).
Tues 3th Mar PRACTICAL GREENSCREEN – experiment with using chromakeying for layering images in films
Tues 10th Mar GUEST SPEAKER Carl Schoenfeld is a professional screenwriter and will talk about reviewing scripts and pitching for filming business
Tues 17th Mar COMPETITION NIGHT Bernard Bareham Fiction Trophy (Max 15 mins)
Tues 24th Mar GUEST SPEAKER Gabi – "Colour in film" - Talk about use of colour in film, tips how to improve your film using one of the most powerful parameters of composition.
Tues 31st Mar NON COMPETITIVE FILMS
Open critique evening. Bring along a short film for feedback from fellow members. Show any films you have made in the past even if they would not normally qualify for competition nights.
Also Deadline for entries for April 14th Competition.
Tues 7th Apr PRACTICAL - action shots Practice filming action, possibly using slo-mo.
Tues 14th Apr COMPETITION NIGHT Bournes Cup - Best of the Year judged by IAC judges Dave & Jan Watterson. Films to be submitted via internet by March 31st.
Tues 21st Apr GUEST SPEAKER Joe Potts - My experience in the film industry so far, and the difficulties it poses
Tues 28th Apr Summer Project Planning Script writers put forward a synopsis of a script they would like to film with help over the summer break.
Tues 5th May AGM Annual General Meeting and showing films made in practical evenings.
     
Summer break    
     

   

Back to top